‘Lewis’ 2014: ITV Cast List and Series 8 Air Date Released

Despite last series ending with Detective Inspector Lewis finally taking his hard earned retirement, Robbie just wasn’t able to stay away.

Just weeks into Hathaway’s appointment as Inspector and struggling to cope with the jobs demands, his first murder case arrives. Enter his ex-crime fighting partner to take on something of a mentoring role.

When does the new series of Lewis start in 2014?

The air date and time for series 8 of Lewis has now been confirmed for Friday 10 October, 2014 at 9:00pm on ITV.

Broadcasting over 6 episodes, the new series will be made-up of 3 two-part stories:

Episodes 1 and 2: Entry Wounds

Episodes 3 and 4: The Lions of Nemea

Episodes 5 and 6: Beyond Good and Evil


Lewis Series 8 Lead Cast List

Character – Actor/Actress

DI Robert Lewis – Kevin Whately (Inspector Morse, Auf Wiedersehen, Pet, Peak Practice, The Broker’s Man)

DI James Hathaway – Laurence Fox (Wired, Island at War)

DS Lizzie Maddox – Angela Griffin (Waterloo Road, Coronation Street, Mount Pleasant, Cutting It, Holby City)

Dr. Laura Hobson – Clare Holman (Inspector Morse, The Lakes, Island at War, Hunter)

Chief Superintendent Jean Innocent – Rebecca Front (The Thick of It, Time Gentlemen Please, Nighty Night, Psychobitches, Grandma’s House)


Additional Cast – Entry Wounds

Ayesha Nooran – Thusitha Jayasundera (The Bill, Holby City)

Rizwan Nooran – Ace Bhatti (EastEnders, The Sarah Jane Adventures, The Shadow Line)

Nabeel Nooran – Michael Karim (Parents of the Band)

Alistair Stoke – Jonny Phillips (Clarissa, The Village)

Erica Stoke – Kara Tointon (EastEnders, Harry and Cosh, Teachers)

Chris Fernsby – Michael Peavoy

Lorraine Fernsby – Elizabeth Rider (Doctors, Waking the Dead, Marchlands, The Lakes)

Gillian Fernsby – Anna Carteret (Juliet Bravo)

Tom Marston – Aden Gillett (Holby City, Ivanhoe, The House of Eliott)

Jess Tallison – Francesca Zoutewelle

Simon Eastwood – Leo Staar (Call the Midwife, Death in Paradise)

Ian (Ballistics) – Phil Rowson (Hollyoaks)

Jake – Robert MacPherson

Kim – Danielle Flett (Top Boy)

Student – Jack Helsby

Solicitor – Richard Huw (Line of Duty, Silent Witness, M.I.T.: Murder Investigation Team)


Additional Cast – The Lions of Nemea

Simon Flaxmore – Clive Merrison (How Do You Want Me?, Mortimer’s Law, The Labours of Erica, Doctor Who)

Karen Flaxmore – Rosie Cavaliero (Prey, A Young Doctor’s Notebook, Pat & Cabbage, Clatterford, Little Dorrit, NurseDeath in Paradise)

Felix Garwood – John Light (WPC 56, Holby City, North & South, The Jump)

Philippa Garwood – Andrea Lowe (DCI Banks, Love Life, The Innocence Project, Where the Heart Is, Rescue Me)

Paul Brightway – Jason Done (Waterloo Road, Conviction, Where the Heart Is, Wokenwell)

Jennie Brightway – Sian Brooke (Meadowlands, All About George, Dinotopia)

Rose Anderson – Alisha Bailey

Chloe Ilson – Jessica Henwick (Silk, Spirit Warriors)

Richard Vanbrooke – Ian East

Moira – Jenny Howe

Harrison Sax – Michael Ryan (WPC 56, Hollyoaks)

Tabby Brightway – Kitty Rich

Wesley Smith – Himself


Additional Cast – Beyond Good and Evil

Tony Maddox – Joe Dixon (Atlantis, Criminal Justice, 32 Brinkburn Street)

Graham Lawrie – Alec Newman (Waterloo Road, Rogue, Hope Springs, Dune)

Dr. Sally Rook – Susan Wooldridge (All Quiet on the Preston Front, Underworld)

Pamela Carson – Robin Weaver (The Inbetweeners, Barking!, Love Hurts)

Katherine Warwick – Priyanga Burford (Boomers)

Douglas Wilkins – Richie Campbell (Waterloo Road, The Silence, The Bill)

Luke Burgess – Patrick Walshe McBride

Dr. Brendan Ward – Tom Davy

Hugo Blayne – Paul Lacoux (Casualty)

PC Mark Travis – Gruffudd Glyn (Stella, Poldark)

PC Kate Ballard – Emily Houghton

Porter – Martin Chamberlain (My Dad’s the Prime Minister)

Receptionist – Holly Blair

Judge – Sean Murray

Known as season 7 of Inspector Lewis, this series premieried in the US on PBS Masterpiece at 9/8C on Sunday, October 5, 2014.